top of page
Search

Review: Building Storms, by Júlia Freitas


"Be a

storm

on ignorance

and electrocute

them with

knowledge."


I thought that my dear friend Júlia Freitas deserved a full post on my blog and not a simple review on Goodreads, that’s why I’m writing this now, a whole year and a half after reading it. But it’s such a touching poetry brook that I still keep it in my head and heart.


It would be easy to say that Júlia wrote these poems inspired by some artists, musicians, other poets, etc. but as she says on the “note from the author”, she wrote these little pieces of letters from the bottom of her heart, it doesn’t matter if they were inspired by other lyrics, poems or whatever, she made them hers and reinterpreted them, giving them her own point of view, her own story, her experiences, which make this book great, special and unique. You’ll be able to read her soul through her poems, you’ll feel represented in her words, and you’ll be able to empathize with what she feels in each piece of this book. And most importantly, you will grow with her through her words.


Júlia has so much potential, her poems are guns filled with love, rage, suffering, expectations and power. She knows exactly how to put the words in order to affect and transmit as much as possible. Although she's young, she's mature and anyone can feel it in her words, how she gets to express how she feels about things like a heartbreak, or injustice, or pure love, or the sorrow, or her land –this one especially touched my heart, for we are from the same motherland.


"My home is where

people dance in circles

to flourishes and tambourines,

holding hands.

Staying together."


I can't even explain how this little poetry compilation has made me feel so many things simultaneously or separately, how Júlia’s words have hit my heart so hard. At the end, I just can say thank you, for sharing your thoughts with me and now with the whole world, your goal was to write a poetry book, and you ended up exposing yourself, your inner thoughts, your feelings, your youth and your wildness with ink on paper. I'm so proud of you and you should be proud of yourself too.


Genre: poetry.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
logo-1.png
bottom of page