top of page
Search

ARC Review: Girl with Three Eyes, by Priya Ardis


“You will feel little in life. Somedays you will feel small. But it will pass.

Be brave. Be strong. Be my sunshine.”


I started reading this book forcing myself because I was not in the mood to read when I grabbed it, but because it’s an advanced readers copy I had to, so that’s what I did, I forced myself into it. But once I started I couldn’t stop and I ended up reading it in one. Single. Day. I guess this should be enough review for you to add this book in your TBR. But I really want to explain you why I couldn’t let go of Girl with Three Eyes.


Priya Ardis’s writing style is easy, fast, light and completely enough to create a good intricate story, with which you’ll laugh and probably cry too. The most important thing is that you won’t lose the thread of the story and your mind will be blown up with every plot twist –maybe you’ll think some of them are obvious but trust me, there’s a huge plot twist you won’t expect at all.


What I liked the most is that Ardis doesn’t get lost in details, which gives the story a fast pace and won’t let you get bored. But even so, you’ll be able to imagine the really well built world she has created, not only the country, the character’s stories and relations, but the whole society, the different social classes, what they contribute, what they need and what they wish. And for the very first time I’ve seen a fictional monarchy that listens to their subjects, that acts to build a fairer society and that, even the differences between the monarchs and the people, they want to make life easier for everyone. That’s really hard to find, not only in fiction but in real life too, honestly. So I’m delighted to see that Ardis has been able to picture such a fair monarchy, because yes, it is possible to be in power and still be altruistic.


I don’t know how to talk about this part without spoiling any part of the story, so I’ll just say that if you’re looking for a great love story, I’m sorry but you won’t find it here. “Thank Guides!” as Kira would say. That’s really satisfying if you’re not a huge fan of romance–just like me. And because of this, I could fully enjoy the relationships between the main characters, which are real and filled with emotions that go from love to mistrust. Also the fact that they all listen to each other, letting everyone explain why they act as they do, which I think is the basis for any good and healthy relationship.


Listen, future reader, if you loved Harry Potter and always wished you could have gone to Hogwarts, then you’re going to enjoy Girl with Three Eyes so much. Here you’ll find another school with houses, called Mahal, since it’s based in a dystopian South Asia.


Finally, I don’t know if there’ll be more books about Kira Shine and her adventures in Rajekstan, or in the Five Kingdoms, but I really hope there will, because I can’t wait to discover more things about this incredible world.


Thanks NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.



80 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
logo-1.png
bottom of page