top of page
Search

Review: Red Rising (Red Rising #1), by Pierce Brown


** spoilers alert **


It was not bad but neither a masterpiece, I think something is missing in the book. The writing is so fast in some parts and slow in others. The idea is really interesting but the development is weird. The main character, Darrow, is always saying such things like "I'm faster, stronger and better than them. I'll win the game". I don't think that's a good way to make a character grow and mature.

As readers, we like to see that the main characters can be vulnerable, that they can die or be hurt or lose or be heartbroken, we like to feel identified with them, to feel they're as human as we are. And you can't completely feel this way with Darrow, because you always know that he will survive and be the Primus. Of course he misses Eo and that everything he does is to make her dream come true, but I feel like most of the time he's fighting for pride, to feel that he's better than Goldens even though he's a Red.


Anyway I like how Pierce Brown plays with the rest of the characters and with their loyalty to Darrow, also how you can feel the sorrow of Cassius when he loses his brother, and Darrow's pain when Eo dies.


Also I think the Sons of Ares are important for this going-to-be revolution, but I miss them to be infiltrated on the Game, it's obvious that Darrow is not the only one (because there's also Titus as a Golden born Red) so I think there could be Sons of Ares around the Proctors.


But well, altogether is not that bad.



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
logo-1.png
bottom of page