top of page
Search

Review: Wild Bird, by Wendelin Van Draanen


For me it's more difficult to review a book I've really loved than one that I haven't liked at all, because it's like having to explain everyone why you've loved it so much, but you can't because that one book has to be read, not explained, to really understand it. And that's the dilemma I have with Wild Bird. I'm sure it's going to be one of my favourites reads from this year, but I can't explain why. Probably because I felt really identified with Wren, (spoiler?) not in the drugs part, but with her mood, her bad humour and her anger against the whole world. I feel like that the 70% of the day, and I can't explain why, actually I don't have a reason, I just feel like that. And I guess that Wren feels the same way.


This book is a journey, it does not only explain Wren's growth, it also makes you grow with her, you can see her evolution as long as it changes you and your point of view on a lot of things, like how it would be like to have to survive by yourself in the wild, or in the desert, and how it would be to open up your mind, meeting new people who's been through tougher things than you and have to help them, how it would help you, how it would let you mature.



Genre: contemporary, young-adult.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
logo-1.png
bottom of page